Top 20 Songs…Ever?

That’s a tough topic. How can I even begin to recall all of the songs I’ve heard over my lifetime, and then how do I narrow them down to 20?

For the non-Twitter types, #20topfavouritesongsever has been trending all day. Likely because it takes 20 tweets to address it.

I did manage to think of 20 songs I like. I don’t know if they’re the best ever; perhaps this post would be more aptly named “Top 20 Songs I Remembered in the Last Hour”.

Also, I couldn’t figure out how to rank them beyond top five. So I’m just disappointment all around with this post.

The rest:
AC/DC, “Back in Black”
Portishead, “Humming”
The Beatles, “I Want You”
Bush, “Swallowed”
Massive Attack, “Angel”
Thievery Corporation, “Sweet Tides”
Bobby Darin, “Beyond the Sea”
Duke Ellington, “Loveinessence”
Elton John, “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me”
Glenn Miller Orchestra, “Moonlight Serenade”
Rufus Wainwright, “Origin of Love”
Fiona Apple, “Criminal”
Simply Red, “Holding Back the Years”
Shiny Toy Guns, “Le Disko”
Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Breaking the Girl”

The best:
5. The Black Crowes, “Remedy”
4. Portishead, “Glory Box”
3. The Beatles, “Something”
2. Temple of the Dog, “Say Hello to Heaven”
1. Led Zeppelin, “Kashmir”

I’ll probably kick myself later for forgetting “Mega Epic Musical Masterpiece” by “Freaking Obvious Band”. For now, this is it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

