On Being Multiracial, Part II

CNN recently featured a story about a multiracial family and the change in society’s views on the issue.

I have discussed this topic on the blog in the past, and I believe the CNN story addresses even more of the intricacies of being multiracial.

As a child, it was all very confusing. I rarely, if ever, saw another child like me. When filling out demographic information, there wasn’t a “multiracial” or “other” option in most cases. This meant having to unwillingly prioritize one race over another.

There were times I wished I could have been a simpler person, i.e., one race.

As I grow older, I’ve grown to embrace it all. I like that I look different from a lot of people. I’ve seen more multiracial children in recent years than ever before.

Isn’t it about time we stopped caring what people look like? It doesn’t matter what a person “is”. Everyone is just a person. Love should know no color. Friendship should know no color.

Sometimes I think people believe being multiracial means behaviors are reflective of a certain “side” over another. I don’t think of myself as two defined streaks of paint; rather, I am a blend of paint. We all are, really. When you’re too busy classifying behavior you miss the person.

And that’s all we are. Just people sharing the same planet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

