The Requisite Fangirl Post on Criminal Minds & Gala Apples

“In a good play every speech should be as fully flavored as a nut or apple.” -Irish playwright J.M. Synge

***

I’ve been on a Criminal Minds/gala apple bender.

I don’t think they have rehab for that.

See, here’s the thing. Both are so amazingly awesome and part of my daily life. And I kind of think you could experience similar amazing awesomeness by partaking in these. Few things in life cause me to spout fake words.

Let’s start with Criminal Minds.

I started watching it late last year. I guess my only excuse for not watching it was that I used to do trivia on Wednesdays, the nights CM airs.

CM is a pretty unique show. I’ve never been a huge fan of the crime drama genre; I actually find a lot of those shows boring. Typical shows seem to follow this format:

  • Crime occurs
  • Investigators arrive. Collect evidence.
  • Run some forensics. Interview some people
  • Arrest the perp.

Eh, it’s just not my cup of Earl Grey.

Most CM cases involve murder(s), but often the killer isn’t finished killing. CM works a little like this:

  • Crime occurs.
  • Local law enforcement tries to piece together evidence. It seems weird.
  • The Behavioral Analysis Unit of the FBI gets the call.
  • The BAU analyzes information on every detail of the crime scene(s) & builds a profile of the unknown subject (or “unsub”)
  • Bam! Catch the killer before he or she strikes again

The suspense of CM is what I love. You feel like you’re trying to figure it out as they do.

(Also, it doesn’t hurt that the cast is probably the best-looking crime-fighting cast out there.)

It’s pretty easy to latch onto the show. It’s not too serialized so you can jump in and start watching. New episodes air on CBS Wednesdays at 9 p.m. Reruns air on A&E weekdays at 10 a.m. & there’s usually a marathon on Sundays starting at 5 p.m. Aaaaaalso, the show airs in primetime on Ion Monday-Thursday. Those times vary between 8 and 10 p.m.

I’m hooked.

And these gala apples…they’re great. I typically eat golden delicious, but I was intrigued with the size of the galas. They’re probably half the size of golden or red delicious–perfect size for snacking. They seem sweeter than my usual choice, too. I’ve found them to be a wonderful substitute for an afternoon cookie or whatever baked thing I have around the kitchen.

I really bring them up because I had never noticed them until last week. Perhaps I’m not as apple classy as I should be. What is an acceptable level of apple classiness?

***

A recreational blogger once said, “Criminal Minds and gala apples are totally non-crazy obsession-worthy.”

(By the way, CM episodes feature this sandwich quote thing.)

P.S. If you need a place to start with CM, find the episode called “The Fisher King”. It’s a two-part and it’s really interesting. Also, the Reaper arc is great…”Omnivore”, “Nameless, Faceless”, & “100” mainly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

