The Kindness of Strangers?

Weirdest thing I’ve ever seen at work:

A gentleman came back to the service desk so his daughter could use the restroom. I’d guess the child is between 5 and 8 years old. She went in the ladies’ restroom. Soon she started yelling “Daddy! Daddy!”

Father: “I can’t come in there. You’re going to have to figure it out yourself.” (looks at me) “She doesn’t know how to wipe herself. I can’t go in there.”

I was wondering if he meant that as, “Can you go in there & do it?”. I stayed behind the desk. The girl continued to yell “Daddy!” from the restroom.

A random customer walked toward the restroom. The father asked the lady if she could check on his daughter because she doesn’t know how to wipe herself. The lady said, “Okay.”

About a minute after this, the girl’s mother arrives at customer service with her purchases. She then asked to use our phone & had a conversation with her mother…while her daughter was still in the bathroom. At no point did the father mention their daughter’s bathroom issue.

The girl eventually comes out of the bathroom. Father: “Did you thank the lady for helping you?” Girl: “Yes.” The customer exited a minute or so later & the father thanked her. The customer said, “It was no problem. Glad I could help.”

I was totally incredulous about this scene. The father seeming to suggest a stranger wipe his child’s bottom…the stranger obliging…the father not sending the mother in there to help…um, what?

At first I thought it might have been an issue of perspective. I don’t have children, so maybe I just don’t get this situation. I asked a few co-workers…they agreed this was just a little too weird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

